Skip to main content

Based on what we think are some of the major turning points in North Carolina history, we have currently divided Colonial Heritage into six divisions of time. In a broad sense these follow the designations provided by NCpedia. From earliest to latest, the periods we highlight are Early Colonial, Late Colonial, American Revolution, Early Statehood, Antebellum, and Civil War. Other historians and archaeologists may use different period designations and/or beginning and ending dates. It’s not that one way is right and the other way is wrong – instead, these discrepancies simply reflect differences in opinion about where to mark turning points, often based on what each expert wants to emphasize.